Walking the walk!

I have always been one of those people who love trying and doing things. But like many people, I have my comfort zones too. I have places where I feel safer and most likely be…. ME! And I think it’s natural for people to feel that way. But I do try to go the distance and feel the water in different pond. Because one thing I’ve learnt is that you need to experience things to actually have something to say.

A lot of people have just been talking the talk. Because let’s face it, talking it easy! But when you’re a teacher, I do believe that we are required to put the money where our mouth is. I have never thought that being in education ‘industry’ (if you want to call it that way) would actually make me a risk taker, a dare devil!

Simple example : I hate Clowns! I am afraid of them and it is no secret to a lot of my friends. I’d rather dance with a snake then spending time dealing with Ronald Mc Donald for sure. But when a student of mine was having a birthday party in school and invited a clown, I had to put my poker face on! That wasn’t the greatest time of my life, but hey! I didn’t just talk the talk every time I taught my students to confront their fear and try something new, I actually walked the walk! When we had a field trip to an eco park last month, one of the teacher had to face her fear. She doesn’t like snake at all but since we’re visiting reptiles park, she had to stand next to the keeper, talking about snakes. She didn’t touch them at all, but at least she didn’t faint standing that close to a lot of snakes 😉

Image

So I’m just thinking out loud here. But I think, us; Teachers, we’re the greatest adventurous of all! We are more than just people who say, we are the people who do ! We take action as much as we talk about it. That’s what we do . That’s who we are!

My class is going to graduate this June, that means I’m going to have a whole new adventure in front of me. I’ve just had a term training where I talked about my experiences in class with other teachers and shared them what could have been done in certain situation. But I didn’t just talk about it, I have no doubt  walked on it .

I’m not really in to politics, but a whole new set of curriculum is going to be applied here. And once again, while everyone in the ‘office’ has talked about how it would be a better one yet, We, the teachers are going to be the one who experience it first hand! I know they meant well by trying to applying a whole new set of education curicullum for school here. But they’re not the ones on the field .Those people can say anything, but teachers are for sure be the ones who are going to have to deal with it. Like I said, I’m not trying to be political or anything. I’m just saying that people on the battle field are going to be the one handling the fire while those who made the call……….well let’s just say would probably never have their feet on that ground. But then again, I am pretty optimistic that we could find a way to make it work 🙂

What I’m (really) trying to say with my post here is that: I think teachers rock! And we shouldn’t be afraid to get out of our comfort zone and try new things like playing with a snake or taking a picture with a clown because in reality, we have done a lot and have left our cozy corner the minute we decide that teaching is our life!

So this is my pondering tonight and let me close it down by saying two things:

“If you can’t put your feet down to walk, then put a thought before you talk”

but most of all

“When you are caught by a rain, don’t stop and wait for it to go away. Get your umbrella, put on Rihanna’s song and start dancing your way out!” 😀

aza aza pondering!

Leave a Reply

